Navajo County Community College District Governing Board Meeting Minutes

December 19, 2024 – 9:00a.m.

Painted Desert Campus, Tiponi Community Center Board Room
2251 East Navajo Boulevard, Holbrook, AZ 86025

Governing Board Member Present: Chair. Everett Robinson, Ms. Kristine Laughter; Mr. Derrick Leslie; Ms. Rosie Sekayumptewa

Governing Board Member Absent: Mr. Frank Lucero

Others Present: Kristin Mackin; AVPHR Christine Schaefer; Farah Bughio

Agenda Item 1: Call to Order and Adoption of the Agenda

Chair Robinson called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m.

Chair Robinson called for a motion to adopt the agenda.

Mr. Leslie made a motion to adopt the agenda. Ms. Laughter seconded the motion. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Leslie, Ms. Laughter, Ms. Sekayumptewa and Chair Robinson voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Agenda Item 2: Call for Public Comment

None.

3.A. Old Business

3.B. New Business

3.B.1. Executive Session 1.

The Board voted to enter Executive Session at 9:09 a.m.

Mr. Leslie made a motion to enter into Executive Session 1. Ms. Laughter seconded the motion. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Leslie, Ms. Sekayumptewa, Ms. Laughter and Chair Robinson voting in favor. There were no votes against.

3.B.2. Action from Executive Session 1.

The Board voted to move forward with the recommendation discussed in Executive Session 1.

Mr. Leslie made a motion to move forward with the recommendation discussed in Executive Session 1. Ms. Laughter seconded the motion. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Leslie, Ms. Sekayumptewa, Ms. Laughter and Chair Robinson voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Navajo County Community College District Governing Board Meeting – 12/19/2024 – Page 1 of 2



3.B.3. Request to Approve Board Member Travel.

Farah Bughio, Recording Secretary to the Board, presented a request for Board members to travel to the annual ACCT National Legislative Summit in February 2025.

No questions.

Ms. Laughter made a motion to approve Board member travel. Mr. Leslie seconded the motion. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Leslie, Ms. Sekayumptewa, Ms. Laughter and Chair Robinson voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Agenda Item 4: Announcement of Next Regular Meeting January 21, 2025

Agenda Item 5: Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:26 a.m. upon a motion by Ms. Laughter and a second by Mr. Leslie. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Ms. Sekayumptewa, Mr. Leslie, Ms. Laughter and Chair Robinson voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Respectfully submitted,

Farah Bughio

Recording Secretary to the Board